HI5017 Managerial Accounting Assignment: Tutorial Questions Answer
Assessment Task – Tutorial Questions
Unit Code: HI5017
Unit Name: Managerial Accounting Assignment: Tutorial Questions
Total Assignment Marks: 50 marks
Purpose: This assignment is designed to assess your level of knowledge of the key topics covered in this unit
Unit Learning Outcomes Assessed:
|1. Synthesize and critically analyse information from various sources and provide recommendations to improve the operations of organisations through the application of management accounting techniques;|
|2. Critically evaluate the various approaches to performance measurement and control in various|
types of organisations, and devise and evaluate indicators of performance.
|3. Demonstrate the need for a balance between financial and non-financial information in decision making, control and performance evaluation applications of management accounting.|
|4. Analyse a company’s financial statements and/or management reports and identify the strengths|
and weaknesses of the company and articulate these to the various stakeholders.
Description: Each week students were provided with three tutorial questions of varying degrees of difficulty. These tutorial questions are available in the Tutorial Folder for each week on Blackboard. The Interactive Tutorials are designed to assist students with the process, skills and knowledge to answer the provided tutorial questions. Your task is to answer a selection of tutorial questions and submit these answers in a single document.
The questions to be answered are:
Question 2 - Week 3 (7 marks)
Tik Tok Company manufactures customized coffee tables. The following relates to Job No. X10, an order for 150 coffee tables:
Direct materials used $22 800 Direct labour hours worked 600 Direct labour rate per hour $16.00 Machine hours used 400
Applied factory overhead rate per machine hour $30.00
- What is the total manufacturing cost for Job No. X10? (3 marks)
- Calculate the cost per coffee table for Job No. X10? (2 marks)
- List two uses of this unit cost information to the managers at Tik Tok Company. (2 marks)
SHOW YOUR WORKING
Question 2 - Week 5 (11 marks)
TikTok Electronics manufactures an aluminium fibre tripod model “TRI-X” which sells for
$1,600. The production cost computed per unit under traditional costing for each model in 2019 was as follows:
|Direct Labour ($20/hour)||$120|
|Manufacturing overhead ($38 per DLH)||$228|
|Total per unit cost||$1, 048|
In 2019, TikTok Electronics manufactured 26,000 units of TRI-X. Under traditional costing, the gross profit on TRI-X was $552 ($1,600-$1,048). Management is considering phasing out TRI- X as it has continuously failed to reach the gross profit target of $600. Before finalizing its decision, management asks TikTok Electronics management accountant to prepare an analysis using activity-based costing (ABC). The management accountant accumulates the following information about overhead for the year ended December 31, 2019.
|Activity Cost Pools||Cost Drivers||Estimated Overhead||Expected Use of Cost Drivers|
|Purchasing||Number of orders||$1,200,000||40,000|
|Machine setups||Number of|
|Quality Control||Number of inspections||700,000||28,000|
The cost drivers used:
|Cost Drivers||TRI-X Product|
- Calculate the activity rates for each of the overhead items using the four cost drivers. (3 marks)
- Using the rates in (1) determine the unit cost for TRI-X. (4 marks)
- Calculate the gross profit of each model of TRI-X based on ABC costings and recommend whether or not TRI-X should be discontinued. (4 marks)
SHOW YOUR WORKING
Question 3 - Week 6 (11 marks)
A new company, is being established to manufacture and sell an electronic tracking device: the Trackit. The owners are excited about the future profits that the business will generate. They have forecast that sales will grow to 2,600 Trackits per month within five months and will be at that level for the remainder of the first year.
The owners will invest a total of $250,000 in cash on the first day of operations (that is the first day of July). They will also transfer non-current assets into the company.
Extracts from the company’s business plan are shown below.
The forecast sales for the first five months are:
The selling price has been set at $140 per Trackit.
Sales will be mainly through large retail outlets. The pattern for the receipt of payment is expected to be as follows:
Time of payment% of sales value
One month later25
Two months later40
Three months later15
The balance represents anticipated bad debts.
* A 4% discount will be given for immediate payment
The budget production volumes in units are:
Variable production cost
The budgeted variable production cost is $90 per unit, comprising:
|Variable production overheads||20|
|Total variable cost||90|
Direct materials: Payment for purchases will be made in the month following receipt of materials. There will be no opening inventory of materials in July. It will be company policy to hold inventory at the end of each month equal to 20% of the following month’s production requirements.
Direct labour will be paid in the month in which the production occurs.
Variable production overheads: 65% will be paid in the month in which production occurs and the remainder will be paid one month later.
Fixed overhead costs
Fixed overheads are estimated at $840,000 per annum and are expected to be incurred in equal amounts each month. 60% of the fixed overhead costs will be paid in the month in which they are incurred and 15% in the following month. The balance represents depreciation of noncurrent assets.
- Prepare a cash receipts budget schedule for each of the first three months (July – September), including the total receipts per month. (3 marks)
- Prepare a material purchases budget schedule for each of the first three months (July – September), including the total purchases per month. (4 marks)
- Prepare a cash budget for the month of July. Include the owners’ cash contributions (4 marks)
SHOW YOUR WORKING
Perfumes Ltd has two divisions: the Perfume Division and the Bottle Division. The company is decentralised and each division is evaluated as a profit centre. The Bottle Division produces bottles that can be used by the Perfume Division. The Bottle Division's variable manufacturing cost per unit is $3.00 and shipping costs are $0.20 per unit. The Bottle Division's external sales price is $4.00 per unit. No shipping costs are incurred on sales to the Perfume Division. The Perfume Division can purchase similar bottles in the external market for $3.50.
The Bottle Division has sufficient capacity to meet all external market demands in addition to meeting the demands of the Perfume Division.
- Using the general rule, determine the minimum transfer price. (2 marks)
- Assume the Bottle Division has no excess capacity and can sell everything produced externally. Would the transfer price change? (2 marks)
- Assume the Bottle Division has no excess capacity and can sell everything produced externally. What is the maximum amount Perfume Division would be willing to pay for the bottles? (2 marks)
- When is it more appropriate to use market-based transfer price rather than cost-based transfer price? (1 mark)
SHOW YOUR WORKING
International Printer Machines (IPM) builds three computer printer models: Alpha, Beta, and Gamma. Information for these three products is as follows:
Selling price per unit
|Variable cost per unit||$80||$200||$800|
|Expected unit sales (annual)||12,000||6,000||2,000||20,000|
|Sales mix||50 percent||40 percent||10 percent||100 percent|
Total annual fixed costs are $5,000,000. Assume the sales mix remains the same at all levels of sales.
- Calculate the weighted average unit contribution margin, assuming a constant sales mix. (2 marks)
- How many units of each printer must be sold to break even? (3 marks)
- i) Explain what is margin of safety (1 mark)
ii) Calculate in sales units the margin of safety for IPM, assuming projected sales are 25,000 units? (1 mark)
SHOW YOUR WORKING
GEM Limited has a single product Flicks. The company normally produces and sells 80,000 units of Flicks each year at a price of $240 per unit. The company’s unit costs at this level of activity are as follow:
|Variable manufacturing overhead||16.80|
|Fixed manufacturing overhead||30.00|
|Variable selling and administrative costs||10.20|
|Fixed selling and administrative costs||27.00|
|Total unit cost||$201.00|
GEM has sufficient capacity to produce 100 000 units of Flicks a year without any increase in fixed manufacturing overhead.
- GEM has an opportunity to sell 10 000 units to an overseas customer. Import duties and other special costs associated with this order would total $42 000. The only selling costs that would be associated with the order would be a shipping cost of $9.00 per unit. What would be the minimum acceptable unit price for GEM to consider this order? (hint: GEM would not accept the order if it would reduce the company’s profit) (3 marks)
- The company has 200 units of Flicks on hand that were produced two months ago. Due to blemishes on the units, it will be impossible to sell these units at the normal price. If the company wishes to sell them through regular sales channels, what would be the relevant cost for setting the minimum price? Explain. (2 marks)
- “All future costs are relevant in decision making.” Do you agree? Explain. (2 marks)
SHOW YOUR WORKING
The assignment has to be submitted via Blackboard. Each student will be permitted one submission to Blackboard only. Each student needs to ensure that the document submitted is the correct one.
Holmes Institute is committed to ensuring and upholding Academic Integrity, as Academic Integrity is integral to maintaining academic quality and the reputation of Holmes’ graduates. Accordingly, all assessment tasks need to comply with academic integrity guidelines. Table 1 identifies the six categories of Academic Integrity breaches. If you have any questions about Academic Integrity issues related to your assessment tasks, please consult your lecturer or tutor for relevant referencing guidelines and support resources. Many of these resources can also be found through the Study Skills link on Blackboard.
Academic Integrity breaches are a serious offence punishable by penalties that may range from deduction of marks, failure of the assessment task or unit involved, suspension of course enrolment, or cancellation of course enrolment.
Table 1: Six categories of Academic Integrity breaches
|Plagiarism||Reproducing the work of someone else without attribution. When a student submits their own work on multiple occasions this is known as self-plagiarism.|
|Collusion||Working with one or more other individuals to complete an assignment, in a way that is not authorised.|
|Copying||Reproducing and submitting the work of another student, with or without their knowledge. If a student fails to take reasonable precautions to prevent their own original work from being copied, this may also be considered an offence.|
|Impersonation||Falsely presenting oneself, or engaging someone else to present as oneself, in an in-person examination.|
|Contract cheating||Contracting a third party to complete an assessment task, generally in exchange for money or other manner of payment.|
|Data fabrication and falsification|